Skip to content

adulisreview.org

Adulis Review

Case AR-2026-029

Verdict: Unsupported

Did Eritrean forces advance “up to 60 km” into Ethiopia, as Ethiopia told UN Security Council members?

By Editorial Desk — Published

The claim

Claim · Government of Ethiopia2026-10-08Archived ✓

Foreign Minister Gedion Timothewos said in the letter that Eritrean forces had advanced up to 60 km (37 miles) into the country.

Our finding

Case AR-2026-029

Verdict

Unsupported

Ethiopia's foreign minister told UN Security Council members that Eritrean forces had advanced up to 60 km into Ethiopia; the earliest report of his letter, by BBC News Amharic, gives the figure as 30 to 60 km. Ethiopia's letter of 9 October, since issued by the UN, gives no distance. We found no place, measurement or evidence for it published by Ethiopia. Independent reports place forces said to be Eritrean on the road to Idaga Hamus, about 57 km by road from the border crossing at Zalambessa, so the figure is not contradicted, but nothing in the record establishes it.

Unsupported: The claim was presented as established fact, but neither the outlet nor its cited sources provide evidence that can be independently verified, and we found none. This is not a finding that the claim is false. How we decide

What was claimed

Ethiopia’s foreign minister, Gedion Timothewos, wrote a letter dated 8 October 2026 that Reuters and BBC News reported was sent to members of the UN Security Council . Reuters, which received the letter from a senior Ethiopian government official, summarised its central figure in the version of its report published by CNBC Africa on 9 October: “Foreign Minister Gedion Timothewos said in the letter that Eritrean forces had advanced up to 60 km (37 miles) into the country” . BBC News, which also saw the letter, reported that he said Eritrean forces “had advanced up to 60km (37 miles) into Tigray” .

The earliest report of the figure we found says something different. BBC News Amharic published the letter’s words in Amharic at 16:55 UTC on 8 October, the day before the earliest Reuters report we found, citing a source in Ethiopia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs :

“ሜካናይዝድ ክፍሎችን ጨምሮ ወታደሮቿን በጥልቀት ወደ ኢትዮጵያ ግዛት አሰማርታለች። ይህም ሦስት የትግራይ ዞኖችን በማካተት በኢትዮጵያ ግዛት ውስጥ ከ30 አስከ 60 ኪሎ ሜትር በሚደርስ ርቀት ወደ ውስጥ ገብተዋል”

Our translation: “[Eritrea] has deployed its troops, including mechanised units, deep into Ethiopian territory. Covering three Tigray zones, they have entered Ethiopian territory to a distance of 30 to 60 kilometres.”

In BBC Amharic’s rendering, the letter gave a range across three zones. Reuters and BBC News in English reported “up to 60 km”, with no lower figure, and Reuters did not mention zones . The English letter may itself say “up to 60 km”: The Reporter, an Ethiopian weekly, also has no lower figure . Neither put the figure in quotation marks. The letter’s own text has not been published, so every version of this sentence is a paraphrase or a translation.

Which letter

The reports give different dates. Reuters called its letter “dated Thursday”, which was 8 October, and BBC News wrote “Dated 8 October” . Reuters reported that the letter was addressed to French Foreign Minister Jean-Noel Barrot, and that the official who shared it said it was also sent to the other Council members . Greece held the Council presidency in October .

Security Council Report, which tracks Council documents, refers to “a 9 October letter (S/2026/797)” from Gedion . The Associated Press obtained a letter it described as “dated Friday”, 9 October . Reuters later wrote that Ethiopia wrote to Council members “on Friday” (Reuters, 10 October).

AP’s report of the letter it holds gives no distance. AP wrote that the letter “did not identify the occupied areas or provide evidence supporting its allegations” . The UN has since issued that letter as S/2026/797, distributed on 13 October. Its annex, signed by Gedion, says Eritrea has escalated its aggression “through the deployment of military forces, including mechanized units and infantry, into Ethiopian territory and occupied areas in northern Ethiopia” . It gives no distance, no place and no evidence. So the only Ethiopian letter now public does not contain the 60 km figure; the letter of 8 October, which reportedly does, has not been published.

What Ethiopia offered as evidence

The Reporter, an Ethiopian weekly, wrote on 10 October that the letter detailed advances in “the Badme–Sheraro–Shimelba axis in the northwest, central border towns such as Rama and Adwa, and eastern districts near Zalambessa and Adigrat” . It added: “Accompanying the letter was an evidence dossier submitted to substantiate claims that Eritrean troops breached Ethiopia’s territorial integrity” . The Reporter does not say it saw the letter, and no other outlet we read names the sectors or the dossier.

In our searches we found no published dossier, and no statement of which place lies 60 km inside Ethiopia or how the distance was measured. On 15 October we searched in English, Amharic and Arabic for the letter’s text and the figure, for coverage by Ethiopian state media (ENA, Fana, EBC) and the Ethiopian foreign ministry, and in the UN document system. We found no Ethiopian state-media report of the figure.

What the independent record shows

Several sources of separate origin place forces said to be Eritrean on the road that runs south from Zalambessa through Adigrat toward Idaga Hamus, in the first days of the crisis.

  • ACLED. The conflict monitor reported on 7 October that “Eritrean forces crossed the border through Zalambessa and headed to the Adigrat-Idaga Hamus route in the Central Tigray zone”, and that the Ethiopian army struck them with drones at Guada “while they were traveling by vehicle toward Idaga Hamus” . ACLED says “toward”; it does not say they reached the town. ACLED does not state its sources, and AP said it could not independently verify the reports .
  • Witnesses in Adigrat. On 7 October two residents told Reuters “they had seen two trucks with dozens of Eritrean soldiers driving through the town on Wednesday morning”, and identified them as Eritrean by their uniforms .
  • Residents speaking to the BBC. Reporters for BBC Tigrinya and BBC Africa wrote that, “According to multiple accounts”, convoys were “reportedly passing through Adigrat and heading toward Edaga Hamus” . A resident of Edaga Hamus, they reported, said Eritrean troops passed through the town . AP reported that Ermiyas Ababu, a commander of the pro-government Tigray Peace Force, had said Eritrean personnel entered Adigrat on Tuesday, 6 October, and Idaga Hamus on Wednesday; AP said it could not independently verify his account . The BBC said it had “not yet been able to independently verify any of the reported troop movements” .
  • Geolocated footage. Misbar, the fact-checking unit of Alaraby TV, matched footage of troops and vehicles to “the main A2 road in Idaga Hamus” . It said the truck’s plate “resembles a model used for Eritrean commercial vehicles”, but that its number “could not be read clearly” . Misbar’s report does not establish whose troops these were or when the footage was filmed.
  • BBC Amharic’s verification. On 9 October BBC News Amharic wrote that images “whose authenticity the BBC has verified have confirmed that the Eritrean army has pushed into the Tigray region” (our translation) . It did not say which images, or where they were taken, and it said nothing about depth. A day earlier the BBC in English had written, of images circulating on social media: “The BBC has not independently verified the images” .

ACLED’s later reports place Eritrean forces much closer to the border. On 10 October it said Eritrean forces had set up positions “on the mountains stretching from Sebeya through Fiya-Qeshi to Debre Damo in Gulo-Mekeda woreda” . On 12 October it reported that “The Eritrean army, which had been stationed along the Zalambessa-Fatsi line, withdrew from Tigray and crossed back into Eritrea via Zalambessa” . In a separate statement the same day, about the road from Shire toward Sheraro, ACLED reported that “the Eritrean forces and TDF left Sheraro” .

No independent source we found confirms who the troops filmed or seen at Idaga Hamus were.

What Eritrea said

  • On 7 October Eritrea’s information minister, Yemane Gebremeskel, “denied Eritrean forces were there”, in Adigrat, Reuters reported, and called the witness accounts part of an Ethiopian plan to justify a war of aggression .
  • Reuters wrote on 9 October that a later statement by Yemane “did not address the issue of Eritrean troops deploying in Ethiopia” .
  • On 10 October Eritrea’s foreign minister, Osman Saleh, replied to the Council in a letter (S/2026/798) that, according to Security Council Report, “rejected the self-defence claim” . Yemane’s summary of that letter on X asks the Council to condemn “Ethiopia’s deplorable declaration of war” under Chapter VII, and does not address the troop claim or the distance. Reuters reported on 10 October that Osman Saleh said in the letter that the incursion claims were part of an Ethiopian plan to justify a war of aggression.
  • The Amharic edition of the Ethiopian Reporter wrote on 11 October that the Eritrean government “dismissed Ethiopia’s statement and said its soldiers had not crossed Ethiopia’s border” (our translation) .

Nothing we read from Eritrea addresses the 60 km figure itself.

Analysis: how far is 60 km?

We measured the distances ourselves, from OpenStreetMap town points and OpenStreetMap’s Eritrea boundary, with road distances from the OSRM routing service. OpenStreetMap’s line is not the Eritrea-Ethiopia Boundary Commission’s delimitation, and all figures are approximate to a few kilometres.

  • Idaga Hamus, at the point Misbar geolocated: about 57 km by road from Zalambessa, about 42 km from Zalambessa in a straight line, and about 33 km in a straight line from the nearest point of the boundary.
  • Adigrat: about 38 km by road from Zalambessa and about 23 km in a straight line from the nearest point of the boundary. Reuters put it “about 25 km (15 miles) south of the Eritrean border” on 7 October and “about 30 km (19 miles) from the border” on 9 October .
  • ACLED’s later positions, from Sebeya and Debre Damo to Fatsi and Sheraro, all lie within about 13 km of the boundary in a straight line.

If the reports that Eritrean troops reached Idaga Hamus are right, the distance by road from the crossing at Zalambessa, about 57 km, is close to Ethiopia’s upper figure. In a straight line it is about 33 km from the nearest point of the boundary and about 42 km from Zalambessa, inside the range in BBC Amharic’s report of “30 to 60”. If BBC Amharic’s rendering is accurate, “up to 60 km” keeps the top of the range and loses the lower figure. The Idaga Hamus reports rest chiefly on one anonymous resident cited by the BBC, an unverified account by a commander of a pro-government force, footage of troops whose identity is not established, and ACLED’s “toward”.

Our verdict

Unsupported. Ethiopia’s foreign minister told Security Council members that Eritrean forces had advanced up to 60 km into Ethiopia, and the earliest report of his letter gives the figure as 30 to 60 km. We found no place, method or evidence for the figure published by Ethiopia, and the letter of 9 October that the UN has now issued gives no distance and no evidence. Independent reports place forces said to be Eritrean on the road to Idaga Hamus, about 57 km by road from the border at Zalambessa, and nothing we found contradicts the upper figure. None of those reports establishes how far Eritrean forces went, or confirms whose troops were at Idaga Hamus. We will review this fact check if Ethiopia publishes the letter of 8 October or its evidence.

Sources

  • Reuters (Dawit Endeshaw), published by CNBC Africa, 9 October 2026: report (archive)
  • BBC News, 9 October 2026: report (archive)
  • BBC News Amharic, 8 October 2026: report (archive)
  • BBC News Amharic, 9 October 2026: report (archive)
  • BBC (BBC Tigrinya and BBC Africa), republished by Yahoo News, 8 October 2026: report (archive)
  • Associated Press (Khaled Kazziha), published by ABC News, 10 October 2026: report (archive)
  • Security Council Report, What’s In Blue, 12 October 2026: Horn of Africa: Closed Consultations (archive)
  • Security Council Report, Monthly Forecast, October 2026: PDF (archive)
  • United Nations, S/2026/797, letter dated 9 October 2026 from the Permanent Representative of Ethiopia, distributed 13 October 2026: PDF (copy saved by Adulis on 19 October 2026)
  • The Reporter (Mintesinot Nigussie), 10 October 2026: report (archive)
  • Ethiopian Reporter (Amharic), 11 October 2026: report (archive)
  • ACLED, Ethiopia alerts archive, entries of 7 to 12 October 2026: alerts (archive)
  • Reuters, published by Arab News, 7 October 2026: report (archive)
  • Reuters (Jessica Donati), published by Internazionale, 10 October 2026: report
  • Misbar (Alaraby TV), 10 October 2026: report (could not be archived; text saved by Adulis on 19 October 2026)
  • Yemane Gebremeskel on X, 10 October 2026: post (could not be archived)
  • Adulis distance measurements, 15 October 2026: OpenStreetMap Nominatim town points and Eritrea boundary; road distances by OSRM. Approximate; the OpenStreetMap boundary is not the Boundary Commission’s line.

Exhibits

14 items
  1. A

    Report

    Reuters (Dawit Endeshaw), published by CNBC Africa, 9 October 2026: reports Ethiopia's letter dated 8 October, addressed to France's foreign minister, and says Gedion Timothewos wrote that Eritrean forces had advanced up to 60 km into the country.

    cnbcafrica.com ↗
  2. B

    Report

    BBC News, 9 October 2026: reports the letter “seen by the BBC”, dated 8 October, and says Gedion Timothewos said Eritrean forces had advanced up to 60km into Tigray.

    bbc.com ↗
  3. C

    Report

    BBC News Amharic, 8 October 2026, 16:55 UTC: the earliest report of the figure we found. Quotes the letter in Amharic as saying Eritrean troops entered Ethiopian territory “30 to 60 kilometres” deep across three Tigray zones (our translation).

    bbc.com ↗
  4. D

    Document

    Security Council Report, Monthly Forecast for October 2026: Greece holds the Security Council presidency in October.

    securitycouncilreport.org ↗
  5. E

    Report

    Security Council Report, What's In Blue, 12 October 2026: cites a 9 October letter from Gedion Timothewos (S/2026/797) and Eritrea's 10 October reply (S/2026/798). Its summary gives no distance.

    securitycouncilreport.org ↗
  6. F

    Report

    Associated Press (Khaled Kazziha), published by ABC News, 10 October 2026: a letter dated Friday 9 October, obtained by AP, “did not identify the occupied areas or provide evidence supporting its allegations”. The report gives no distance.

    abcnews.com ↗
  7. G

    Document

    UN document S/2026/797, Ethiopia's letter dated 9 October 2026, distributed 13 October: alleges “mechanized units and infantry” in “occupied areas in northern Ethiopia”; gives no distance, place or evidence.

    documents.un.org ↗
  8. H

    Report

    The Reporter (Ethiopia), Mintesinot Nigussie, 10 October 2026: says the letter named three sectors and was accompanied by an “evidence dossier”. Does not say it saw the letter.

    thereporterethiopia.com ↗
  9. I

    Report

    ACLED, Ethiopia alerts archive, entries of 7, 10 and 12 October 2026: Eritrean forces crossed at Zalambessa and headed toward Idaga Hamus; later held positions between Sebeya and Debre Damo; then withdrew via Zalambessa. ACLED does not state its sources.

    acleddata.com ↗
  10. J

    Report

    Reuters, published by Arab News, 7 October 2026: two Adigrat residents say they saw Eritrean soldiers drive through the town; Eritrea's information minister “denied Eritrean forces were there”.

    arabnews.com ↗
  11. K

    Report

    BBC (Yemane Nagish, BBC Tigrinya; Michael Teferi, BBC Africa), as republished by Yahoo News on 8 October 2026: residents describe convoys through Adigrat toward Edaga Hamus. The BBC says it could not verify the movements or the images.

    yahoo.com ↗
  12. L

    Video

    Misbar (Alaraby TV), 10 October 2026: geolocates footage of troops and vehicles to the main A2 road in Idaga Hamus. The truck's plate number could not be read. The page could not be archived.

    misbar.com ↗
  13. M

    Report

    BBC News Amharic, 9 October 2026: says images whose authenticity the BBC verified confirmed that the Eritrean army entered Tigray (our translation). It does not identify the images or where they were taken.

    bbc.com ↗
  14. N

    Report

    Ethiopian Reporter (Amharic), 11 October 2026: dates the letter Meskerem 28, 2019 E.C. (8 October 2026) and reports that the Eritrean government said its soldiers had not crossed Ethiopia's border (our translation).

    ethiopianreporter.com ↗
Exhibit A · Report

Reuters (Dawit Endeshaw), published by CNBC Africa, 9 October 2026: reports Ethiopia's letter dated 8 October, addressed to France's foreign minister, and says Gedion Timothewos wrote that Eritrean forces had advanced up to 60 km into the country.

cnbcafrica.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit B · Report

BBC News, 9 October 2026: reports the letter “seen by the BBC”, dated 8 October, and says Gedion Timothewos said Eritrean forces had advanced up to 60km into Tigray.

bbc.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit C · Report

BBC News Amharic, 8 October 2026, 16:55 UTC: the earliest report of the figure we found. Quotes the letter in Amharic as saying Eritrean troops entered Ethiopian territory “30 to 60 kilometres” deep across three Tigray zones (our translation).

bbc.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit D · Document

Security Council Report, Monthly Forecast for October 2026: Greece holds the Security Council presidency in October.

securitycouncilreport.org ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit E · Report

Security Council Report, What's In Blue, 12 October 2026: cites a 9 October letter from Gedion Timothewos (S/2026/797) and Eritrea's 10 October reply (S/2026/798). Its summary gives no distance.

securitycouncilreport.org ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit F · Report

Associated Press (Khaled Kazziha), published by ABC News, 10 October 2026: a letter dated Friday 9 October, obtained by AP, “did not identify the occupied areas or provide evidence supporting its allegations”. The report gives no distance.

abcnews.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit G · Document

UN document S/2026/797, Ethiopia's letter dated 9 October 2026, distributed 13 October: alleges “mechanized units and infantry” in “occupied areas in northern Ethiopia”; gives no distance, place or evidence.

documents.un.org ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit H · Report

The Reporter (Ethiopia), Mintesinot Nigussie, 10 October 2026: says the letter named three sectors and was accompanied by an “evidence dossier”. Does not say it saw the letter.

thereporterethiopia.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit I · Report

ACLED, Ethiopia alerts archive, entries of 7, 10 and 12 October 2026: Eritrean forces crossed at Zalambessa and headed toward Idaga Hamus; later held positions between Sebeya and Debre Damo; then withdrew via Zalambessa. ACLED does not state its sources.

acleddata.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit J · Report

Reuters, published by Arab News, 7 October 2026: two Adigrat residents say they saw Eritrean soldiers drive through the town; Eritrea's information minister “denied Eritrean forces were there”.

arabnews.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit K · Report

BBC (Yemane Nagish, BBC Tigrinya; Michael Teferi, BBC Africa), as republished by Yahoo News on 8 October 2026: residents describe convoys through Adigrat toward Edaga Hamus. The BBC says it could not verify the movements or the images.

yahoo.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit L · Video

Misbar (Alaraby TV), 10 October 2026: geolocates footage of troops and vehicles to the main A2 road in Idaga Hamus. The truck's plate number could not be read. The page could not be archived.

misbar.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit M · Report

BBC News Amharic, 9 October 2026: says images whose authenticity the BBC verified confirmed that the Eritrean army entered Tigray (our translation). It does not identify the images or where they were taken.

bbc.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Exhibit N · Report

Ethiopian Reporter (Amharic), 11 October 2026: dates the letter Meskerem 28, 2019 E.C. (8 October 2026) and reports that the Eritrean government said its soldiers had not crossed Ethiopia's border (our translation).

ethiopianreporter.com ↗In the exhibits ↓

Record of events

2026-10-07ACLED reports Eritrean forces crossing at Zalambessa and heading toward Idaga Hamus. Two Adigrat residents tell Reuters they saw Eritrean soldiers; Eritrea's information minister denies Eritrean forces are there.
2026-10-08Claim published by Government of Ethiopia.
2026-10-08Ethiopia's letter to Security Council members is dated. BBC News Amharic reports it the same evening, giving the distance as 30 to 60 km.
2026-10-09Reuters and BBC News report the letter with the figure “up to 60 km”. Security Council Report later dates a letter from Gedion Timothewos, S/2026/797, to this day.
2026-10-10AP reports a letter dated 9 October that gives no evidence or occupied areas. The Reporter says the letter came with an evidence dossier. Misbar geolocates footage to Idaga Hamus. Eritrea replies to the Council (S/2026/798).
2026-10-12ACLED reports that Eritrean forces on the Zalambessa-Fatsi line withdrew into Eritrea via Zalambessa.
2026-10-13The UN distributes S/2026/797, Ethiopia's letter of 9 October. It gives no distance.
2026-10-19This review published.

Type to search the record.